Milnerton Players is an amateur theatre company founded 40 years ago and have been successfully presenting dramas, musicals, comedies
and other on stage entertainment, at the Milnerton Playhouse in Pienaar Road, Milnerton for 30 years now.

Book Now!                                 Join Up!

Savannah Sipping Society

By Jessie Jones, Nicholas Hope & James Wooten, Directed by Judith Herbig

In this delightful, laugh-a-minute comedy, four unique Southern women, all needing to escape the sameness of their day-to-day routines, are drawn together by Fate—and an impromptu happy hour—and decide it’s high time to reclaim the enthusiasm for life they’ve lost through the years. Randa, a perfectionist and workaholic, is struggling to cope with a surprise career derailment that, unfortunately, reveals that she has no life and no idea how to get one. Dot, still reeling from her husband’s recent demise and the loss of their plans for an idyllic retirement, faces the unsettling prospect of starting a new life from scratch—and all alone. Earthy and boisterous Marlafaye, a good ol’ Texas gal, has blasted into Savannah in the wake of losing her tom-cattin’ husband to a twenty-three-year-old dental hygienist. The strength of her desire to establish a new life is equaled only by her desire to wreak a righteous revenge on her ex.

The Savannah Sipping Society will run at Milnerton Playhouse on 27, 28 September & 4, 5, 11, 12 October @ 20h00 with matinees on 5 & 12 October @ 14h30.

Give yourself a treat!

What – Dinner and theatre for only R150 single or R300 double?

From 27 September to 13 October enjoy this special offer of lunch or dinner on show days at Dale’s and then laugh yourself silly when you see ‘Savannah Sipping Society’ at the Playhouse.

If you fancy a night out in your ‘hood then treat yourself to a delicious meal at Dale’s Black Angus at The Paddocks, Racecourse Road, Milnerton followed by a night of comedy theatre at Milnerton Playhouse. Pienaar Road, Milnerton. 

Dinner and theatre for only R300 double or single R150
Please note drinks are NOT INCLUDED in the price. You can only book this deal online.

Choose from the following dishes for a delicious start to your evening:

  • Chicken Schnitzel, Cheese Sauce, Vegetables – Side Salad or Chips
  • Curry of the Day with Rice and Vegetables
  • Battered Fish and Chips or Side Salad with Vegetables

All you have to do

  • Book your combined ticket on or on Quicket, remember to select LAST ticket type option “Dinner & Show Package”. You can only book this deal online.
  • Print your ticket out and take it along to Dale’s.
  • Show your ticket at the restaurant but keep it to show at the theatre
  • Show the ticket at the theatre

Please note: Price does not include drinks.  Booking only through Milnerton Players website or Quicket. If you have trouble booking online for any reason, please contact Quicket – 021 424 9308. General Playhouse enquiries 082 267 1061. This offer is only valid during the run of “Savannah Sipping Society” – performance dates as follows: 27, 28 September & 4, 5, 11, 12 October @ 20h00 with matinees on Saturday 5 & 12 October @ 14h30.

Congratulations! CATA 2018 Award Winners

Our happy, award winning director Judith Herbig and her equally happy cast, Thomas van Niekerk, Tania Lemme and Petra Baker, who were all nominees.  Congratulations Judith and Trevor and all our nominees. You have done the society proud!

The CATA 2018 (Cape Amateur Theatre) Awards was held at the Masque Theatre on Monday 25 February, we were delighted to be awarded three of the big ones. Miracle on South Division Street won the award for the Best Play and Judith Herbig was awarded Best Director of a Play for the same production. Trevor Joubert won the Best Supporting Actor in a Play award for his role as Uncle Bernie in The Christmas Spirit. The CATA panel saw a total of 20 plays and musical productions in 2018 and we were honoured to have been nominated in twenty-one categories.

Our last show for 2019 will be Sondheim’s Putting it Together which will be opening in late November. Watch this website and our facebook page for more details.

The production of these shows relies on a dedicated body of members that support the theatre either through their attendance and promoting our shows to their family and friends or for those wanting a more hands on experience – we are always looking for members to assist with our productions.